Meeting Christ In The Morning #christianscience #christian

I remember that in the past there were times when I lay awake early in the morning, unable to sleep, unable to move and unable to get my thoughts sorted.  It was like a time of great fear  when my darkest thoughts just seemed to keep going round in my head. I put on the radio, or the internet and searched for a show but nothing seems to quite fill that emptiness I was looking for. The biggest  problem I had with this was dealing with the fear, there was a voice inside me which said “I should be asleep” or “I will suffer because of this the next day” and then there was also my clicking my way through endless sites to find nice music, sermons or dealing with the issue to distract myself.

In this weeks Bible Lesson from www.endtime.org it says:

(7) Ps 53:1-3
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. Corrupt are they, and have done abominable iniquity: there is none that doeth good. God looked down from heaven upon the children of men, to see if there were any that did understand, that did seek God. Every one of them is gone back: they are altogether become filthy; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

 

(9) 215:7, 27
Soul and matter are at variance from the very necessity of their opposite natures. Mortals are unacquainted with the reality of existence, because matter and mortality do not reflect the facts of Spirit. Because he understood the superiority and immortality of good, Socrates feared not the hemlock poison. Even the faith of his philosophy spurned physical timidity. Having sought man’s spiritual state, he recognized the immortality of man. The ignorance and malice of the age would have killed the venerable philosopher because of his faith in Soul and his indifference to the body.

The last part of Mrs Eddy´s words “The ignorance and malice of the age would have killed the venerable philosopher because of his faith in Soul and his indifference to the body” really struck me this week.

Ignoring the fact that I didn’t sleep well was not the answer but realizing that my happiness will never be based on  whether I sleep or not, helped immensely. I realized that my problem was defining my day by  whether I slept at night. Once I realized I could use the time to study, write or work, the idea of not sleeping was no longer hazardous. It became my friend.

I sleep better now, but on the days that I don’t I no longer fight it, I simply get up and make the best of the time.

Leave a Reply

